Make your own free website on Tripod.com
 
 Warranties of Land in Martic Prior to 1800
 

Anderson, William, June 19, 1745, 200 acres between the mouth of Conestoga Creek and Mount Massey.
Armor, Thomas, Feb. 25, 1772, 40 acres, on Susquehanna River, next to George Stevenson; owned in 1883 by R. Brubaker.
Armstrong, Andrew, March 20, 1753, 100 acres, including improvements, next to Humphrey Benner and Ulrich Yartz, in Martic.
Atkinson, Michael, May 13, 1748, 50 acres, next to James Clark and James McFerson.
Baar, Jacob, Feb. 15, 1754, 50 acres, next to John Robison and George Turner.
Baldridge, John, Dec. 14, 1750, 100 acres, next to John Ramsey and others.
Barnard, Jeremiah, Dec. 12, 1745, 150 acres on branch of Muddy Creek, near Susquehanna.
Bleecher, Michael, Feb. 28, 1759, 20 acres, next to his other land.
Bowles, Thomas, June 19, 1744, 200 acres, next to John Taylor, over Susquehanna.
Boyd, John, Jan. 17, 1750, 50 acres, next to Thomas White and James Moore. This property remained in the family until the death of W. C. Boyd, when it was sold to Milton Wike, of Columbia (present owner).
Boyse, Jacob, March 6, 1743, 100 acres, next to Samuel Boyse. Now owned by Martic Forge.
Boyse, Samuel, March 6, 1743, 50 acres, next to his other land. The old forge property.
Duncan, James, Aug. 22, 1753, 150 acres, bought by Samuel Stevenson in 1819, sold by his son, John Stevenson, in 1858, now owned by Ellen Kehoe.
Erwin, Samuel, Sept. 30, 1755, 50 acres, next to Robert Boyd and William Goay.
Forsyth, Robert, Dec. 28, 1742, 50 acres, next to Widow Middleton and Sanders Scott, improved in 1739.
Gibson, Patrick, Dec. 22, 1744, 50 acres, next to Henry Hoover and Leonard Benson, improved in 1737.
Gwin, John, Jan. 3, 1750, 60 acres, next to John McDrewins.
Gross, Andrew, Nov. 29, 1745, 50 acres, next to Mike Grove.
Grunde, Jacob, Nov. 7, 1755, 20 acres, next to John Smith.
Johnson, George, Nov. 8, 1743, 50 acres, next to John Logan.
Johnson, Benjamin, Oct. 18, 1787, 14 acres, next to J. and S. Boyse, or Boyer.
Kinkead, John, Dec. 14, 1750, 50 acres, next to William Forbes and Widow Roads.
Laske, Elizabeth, Jan.31, 1750, 100 acres, next to Robert Steele and T. White, now owned by David Eshleman.
McAnaulty, John, Dec. 20, 1750, 100 acres, next to Widow Snodgrass, now owned by George M. Steinman.
McCall, Samuel, March 27, 1764, 50 acres on Susquehanna.
McCullough, Samuel, Feb. 14, 1750, 100 acres, now owned by David Miller.
McLaughlin, George, Dec. 1, 1750, 30 acres.
McLaughlin, Alexander and George, May 24, 1753, 150 acres, now owned by J. S. Harner.
McLaughlin, Alexander, Feb. 12, 1755, 20 acres. The two McLaughlin brothers owned at one time a large tract of land comprising at present the farms of Thomas E. Ambler, John S. Harner, Isaac J. and W. H. Wentz, and Thomas Robinson.
Mears, Samuel Dec. 14, 1750, 40 acres.
Middleton, George, April 13, 1737, on east side of Pequea Creek.
Middleton, George, Feb.. 5, 1745, 50 acres, improved in 1737.
Ramsey, John, March 20, 1743, 100 acres, , returned in Drumore.
Read, James, Jan. 3. 1754, 30 acres, next to his other land, now owned by Rolandus Brubaker.
Read, James, March 10, 1743, 50 acres, over river.
Read, James, July 1, 1755, 70 acres, in Martic.
Read, James, Nov. 26, 1756, 50 acres, next to Joseph Reed.
Read Joseph, Jan. 4, 1759, 50 acres, next to James Reed.
Robinson, James, May 5, 1752, 100 acres, included in his improvement, now owned by Jesse Shoemaker's heirs.
Schollas, Frederick, March 30, 1756, 50 acres.
Smith, Abraham, March 11, 1737, 200 acres, next to Jacob Boyer and J. Middleton.
Snodgrass, James, Sept. 6, 1751, 20 acres, now owned by J. N. Massey.
Snodgrass, John, Dec. 20, 1750, 100 acres, next to James Patterson's, now owned by George M. Steinman.
Snodgrass, Janet (widow), Dec. 20, 1750, 100 acres, next to John McAnaullty, now owned by George M. Steinman.
Steel, Robert, Nov. 28, 1753, 90 acres, next to his other land, sold to John Simpson in 1821. The present owners are the heirs of John Simpson.
Stewart, James, July 17, 1742, 50 acres, including improvements by Thomas Stewart. Thomas, Adam, Jan. 3. 1759, 25 acres, next to his other land.
Warry, Thomas, Feb. 28, 1750, 100 acres, now owned by Dana & Miller. Wentzel, John Adam, May 24, 1748.
Wilson, Samuel, Nov. 25, 1751, in his improvement of 1745.
Yorty, Uriah, Dec. 21, 1750, 100 acres.

 

 

 

- Taken from -  Ellis, Franklin, History of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania : with biographical sketches of many of its pioneers and prominent men, Philadelphia: Everts & Peck, 1883, 1293 pgs.